Boat trip to see wild dolphins!

We met in the lobby of The Sugar Beach Hotel and was taken by bus to our west coast dolphin catamaran trip.


I was really looking forward to this as I always try to do a boat trip on my own holidays as I love snorkelling and being in the sea and this had the added bonus of hopefully seeing some dolphins – an animal I love.

Once on board the crew went through the order of the day and gave us drinks from the free bar, they had beers, cocktails and soft drinks on offer.

We cruised along the coast and saw the stunning coastline and then the catamaran stopped to give us some time in the water. Everyone grabbed the snorkels and floats and got into the beautiful Indian Ocean.

Back on the boat we were on the search for the main event – wild dolphins. After a while we came across them and there was a whole pod! It was a truly magical moment seeing so many of them in there natural habitat. They definitely put on a show for us coming up close to the boat and jumping out of the water .

Also included was lunch, this was very tasty and the open bar continued so I had a couple of more beers as we headed back to land – I would recommend this trip to anyone travelling to Mauritius.


Next up was The Shanti Maurice hotel and this one was probably my fave.

We were welcomed into the hotel and shown to our rooms and wow what a room the bathroom was bigger than my kitchen at home and also had an outside shower! The bedroom had a lovely large bed and glass doors opening up to a terrace in the lovely gardens facing towards the sea.


As I was unpacking my bag I had a call from reception saying Jorge (our lovely If Only rep) would like us to join him for drinks in his villa, so off I went to reception to see what was going on and was taken by golf buggy to one of the fabulous private villas in the hotel grounds.

When Jorge opened the door I was completely taken away with the villa and it’s stunning private pool – which I got straight into. The view was amazing.


We had pre dinner drinks in the rum shed, this had a fantastic atmosphere I really enjoyed this relaxed bar/restaurant where you could sit and enjoy a cocktail as well as some food. The menu is sharing style and is a casual dining experience.

After our cocktails we had a wonderful meal where the food has lots a flavour.

This hotel has a calm and tranquil atmosphere perfect for couples and families that are looking for a relaxing holiday.

Leave a Reply

